AJP Announces Candidates

 AJP_Campaign_Launch.jpgThe Animal Justice Party targets marginal seats. 


Actress and pioneering animal rights activist Lynda Stoner is one of 53 candidates standing for the Animal Justice Party in the coming federal election. Ms Stoner will stand for the Senate in New South Wales.

In addition to contesting the Senate the AJP will stand around 41 lower house candidates. Over sixty five per cent of AJP candidates are women.

National AJP President Professor Steve Garlick said today, “With a double dissolution election, the AJP has a reasonable chance of picking up the last Senate seat in a number of states and by targeting marginal lower house seats we aim to influence the outcome of the entire election.”
Professor Garlick said that the AJP aimed to stop cruelty to animals and improve the well-being of domestic, farm and native animals. “We need to restore the balance between the human, natural and animal worlds and to examine the potential impact on animals of government actions at federal, state and local levels,” he said.
“There are a growing number of political parties throughout the world focusing on animal welfare in countries ranging from the UK, Germany, Spain, Italy and Portugal to Turkey and Cyprus. With the Netherlands, the AJP is the second of the world’s political parties for animals to have a representative elected to one of its nation’s parliaments.

“Since we had a representative elected to the NSW Legislative Council last year, interest in the Party has grown considerably. Our membership is now six times what it was when we competed in our first national election in 2013. We expect our primary vote at the July 2 election to also increase”.

Professor Garlick said the Turnbull Government regularly demonstrated its lack of concern about cruelty to animals. “Since taking over the prime minister’s position Mr Turnbull’s government has dramatically increased the appalling live trade industry, given marketing support to the violent commercial kangaroo killing industry, allowed export of greyhound dogs for overseas racing and gambling industries and removed protection for flying foxes,” he said. 

“The Turnbull Government’s Budget gives scant attention to animal welfare, except to say it has become a state responsibility, although we know that many decisions made by the Commonwealth may impact negatively on the lives of animals.

“In the current era of multi-lateral free trade agreements, the Commonwealth’s abrogation of responsibility for animal welfare is simply unacceptable. Commonwealth Government responsibilities in animal welfare have now been watered down to mean virtually nothing. This has to change.”

Candidate and contact details:

State Electorate
Name Email
NSW Senate #1 Lynda Stoner [email protected]
  Senate #2 Gordon Elkington [email protected]
Victoria Senate #1 Bruce Poon [email protected]
  Senate #2 Jacquie Edgecombe [email protected]
WA Senate #1 Katrina Love [email protected]
  Senate #2 Alicia Sutton [email protected]
SA Senate #1 Tania Noble [email protected]
  Senate #2 Emma Breagan [email protected]
ACT Senate #1 Deborah Field [email protected]
  Senate #2 Jessica Montagne [email protected]
Qld Senate #1  Paul Bevan [email protected]
  Senate #2 Zade Watson [email protected]
Lower House      
NSW Eden Monaro Frankie Seymour [email protected]
  Hughes Ellie Robertson [email protected]
  Page Anna Ludvick [email protected]
  Richmond Angela Pollard [email protected]
  Banks Roy Barnes [email protected]
  Blue Mountains Hal Ginges [email protected]
  Barton TBA  
  Lyndsay Deborah Blundell [email protected]
  Grayndler TBA  
Victoria Corangamite Andy Meddick andy[email protected]
  Corio Jamie Overend [email protected]
  Bendigo Ruth Parramore [email protected]
  Casey Kristin Bacon [email protected]
  Latrobe Leah Folloni [email protected]
  McMillan Jennifer McAdam [email protected]
  Batman Caitlin Evans  [email protected]
  Calwell Megan Searls  [email protected]
  Melbourne Miranda Smith  [email protected]
  Scullin John Matlen [email protected]
  Wills Camille Kennedy-Sydow [email protected]
  Aston Rosemary Lavin [email protected]
  Deakin Vannessa Brown [email protected]
  Jaga Jaga Nathan Schram  [email protected]
  Chisholm Nyree Walshe [email protected]
  Higgins Elleonor Gulloni [email protected]
  Goldstein Naren Chellapah [email protected]
  Melbourne Ports Rob Smyth [email protected]
  McEwan Cathy Vaina [email protected]
  Flinders Ben Wild [email protected]
  Hotham Helen Jeges [email protected]
  Issacs Elizabeth Johnston [email protected]
  Maribyrnong Fiona McRostie  [email protected]
  Menzies Anthony Hulbert  [email protected]
  Bruce Doug Leith  [email protected]
  Dunkley Tyson Jack [email protected]
  Holt Louella Scanu [email protected]
South Australia Makin Zarina Greenburg [email protected]
  Sturt Geoff Russell [email protected]
  Adelaide Matt Tidswell [email protected]
  Hindmarsh Alyssa Liu [email protected]
  Port Adelaide TBA